Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

EP advice for a 150mm dob

cajen2

Hi all. I'm waiting for my new scope to be delivered and thought I'd ask for EP advice from the assembled great minds here. 😊

The scope is a Skywatcher Heritage 150mm flextube. This has a FL of 750mm and a ratio of f/5, please note.

I'm told the supplied EPs could be bettered....😄.. I'd like recommendations for a variety of uses: moon/planetary, stuff like double stars, the Pleiades, etc.

I don't want to spend huge amounts of money (who does?) and don't care about "premium" brand names, just performance.

Thanks in advance, folks. Be gentle with me: I'm a beginner!

20 minutes ago, IB20 said:

Lunar, planetary and doubles you won’t go too far wrong with the 10mm Baader Classic Ortho. 

I was told the Baader Hyperions wouldn't suit my dob but I'm sure the Classics would be ok.

Havent used the Hyperions but yes have read that they work better at f/8 and longer. To my knowledge the BCOs don’t have any problems in faster scopes.

The 6mm BCO would give you 125x in your scope but eye relief starts to get tighter in higher mag orthos, which aren’t to everyone’s taste. I’m thinking of trying the Vixen SLV range at some point to compare them to my 4,6 & 7mm orthos. 

I will say that my experience with the 5mm BST has been nothing but enjoyable mind, a rock solid EP at ~£43.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

5 minutes ago, Dave scutt said:

I've just looked at the customer reviews from flo and they say the baader ortho works well in f 4.7 at that price I might give them a go

The 10mm BCO is my most used EP in 800 and 1200 fl scopes.

• Like 1

4 minutes ago, cajen2 said:

Thanks a lot, everyone. What I DON'T want is to end up buying twice or wishing I'd gone for something better.....

Maybe look at the Baader Morpheus range then. You won’t get better at that price point. Or play the used market for Pentax XWs or Televues.

Edited by IB20
  • Like 1

3 minutes ago, IB20 said: