Narrowband

Advice for Milkyway imaging

Iem1

Morning guys,

Just after some advice on how others go about image acquisition. I am new to nightscapes, only been out a few times recently under the stars with my 14mm Samyang lens and my astro modded 600D and my Sky Guider pro.

I am interested to learn how others go about image acquisition, the techniques used/ISO settings/exposure times/Total integration times and the like. Just looking for ways to improve on my own methods.

I currently use ISO 1600 as a staple and 90 second exposures with my 600D, here is my latest capture. 

2138379747_SeqNonandromeda.thumb.png.6e8a29334b5e741e33064f0684136164.png

this is x4 90 second exposures at ISO 1600 of both the foreground and sky, the sky being stacked in sequator, taken on a moonless night in a bortle 3-4

I notice the image is quite light, and the milkyway a little dim. I am thinking next time I might try dropping to ISO 800 and perhaps increasing exposure length? Not sure how else to approach it. Is x4 90 second subs considered a decent total integration, or extremely short (as with Deep Sky imaging)?

I am using the technique of imaging the foreground first (Usually while waiting on clouds to clear) and then for the sky I will angle the camera upwards a bit, lowering the foreground in the FOV in order to make blending the images easier (I like to keep a more natural effect with the gradient of the horizon in shot). Did not work 100% here as there is some overlap present near the mountains, I must have shifted left or right while waiting for clouds to clear.

Any advice/tips on things to try or how to improve is appreciated, cheers guys!

• Like 1

great start, well done!

I'd be curious tp know when star trails start to appear with the setup you have, perhaps a longer exposure would allow a less noisy ISO.

If it were me I'd choose a longer exposure on the foreground, to lighten it up a bit more. Not much though, I like the silhouette and the blue windows.