SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Newcomer second scope purchases, an expensive mistake?

Hi Everyone,
I originally wrote a mammoth post which ended up being incredibly boring and I’m pretty sure no-one would have read it so Ive done an abbreviated version.

I'm very new to astronomy and purchased my first telescope at the beginning of the year (Sky Watcher Explorer 130PS AZ5). Ive thoroughly enjoyed using it but am already looking to get something slightly more advanced that will help me see further and with more clarity.

I’d like to get some of your thoughts on upgrades and what you experienced starting out in the hobby. To put it briefly Id like to purchase an upgrade with the intention of it lasting me a few years.  Is this a good idea or am I’m trying to run before I can walk?

Despite my brief time in the hobby I can already see there is an endless and sometimes overwhelming sea of information and technology. I’m sure many people have purchased their first telescope only to buy an upgrade soon after but wondered if this was the best approach?

I’d like to consider a more intermediate set-up such as the Celestron Nexstar 8SE and a Sky-Watcher EQ6 Pro GOTO though at the moment this is a very broad equipment list.

Without getting too specific equipment wise would anyone mind giving their personal experiences and whether or not I should continue with my current set-up or dive in with something more advanced that will see me through for a few years?

Many Thanks

Keith

I think the first question to ask is what is wrong with the current setup, or more accurately what does it not do, that you would like.

Do you want to stay visual, or try photography?

Do you want a 'light bucket' to view faint objects? Or more lunar/planetary? Or a crisp view refractor?

Is goto a must? Goto can be quite a faff, depending on the system you buy.
But a tracking EQ mount is essential for photography.