SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Standard newbie question.. :)

Hi everyone,

I'm new to astronomy - after wanting a telescope for sometime, my wife recently bought me a Celestron Powerseeker 127EQ for my birthday. My joy quickly turned to frustration when I couldn't get a sharp, stable, image from it (when it finally stopped shaking, the stars looked more like wispy hairs than spots of light!) and, on going online, i discovered a lot of folks describing the exact problems with it I was having. So I want to follow the advice, move on from that before I'm totally fed up with it all, and get myself something that I can enjoy now and build on later on. My budget is around £400 and I'd really like something that I can upgrade rather than replace as time goes by.

I think I'll be mainly viewing, but I'd like to try astrophotography (I'm quite a keen photographer, with a DSLR already) so i'd definitely like the upgrade path to handle that. Right now I'm not entirely sure if I'll be mainly pointing at the moon/planets or DSO, so i don't want to rule either out - i know that makes the decision more difficult. I would like the setup to be portable enough to take on holiday with all the kids stuff (so, no car-fillers!) and i do like the hands-on learning aspect of all of this, so don't really want a GoTo right now (although, again i can see myself upgrading to this later, especially for imaging). I've read a lot suggesting that the mount is as important as the telescope itself and like the idea of a setup that i can later upgrade with motors or a GoTo system, so (currently, it changes everytime i browse the web!) I'm trying to choose between these two options:

Sky-Watcher Evostar 102 with the EQ3-2 mount - currently £399

or the Sky-Watcher Explorer 130P-DS- currently £229 - and getting the EQ3-2 mount separately - currently £209