Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Not sure if this is just Halo's or Noise? Any ideas how I can fix this on Pixinsight?

Hi Everyone:

I just recently modded by DSLR and really happy to see much more red in my images. I tried taking a picture of the Heart nebula. I have an 8 inch 3.9F Orion Newt, powered by ASI Air Pro on a CEM 40 mount.

I am really happy with the final picture, but im a novice on Pixinsight. If I zoom into the stars, I see like long strands over the stars (like greyish roads?)  I'm not sure what they are. Are these artefacts of some kind?

Any ideas on how I can create a clearer picture between the stars?, would really be appreciated.

Thank you in advance!

Best regards,

Kam

Heart1.jpg

Heart1.Zoomed.jpg

Hi

Love the image:)

A few hands on before-you-process ideas from our 208mm f3.9 which saved us a lot of head scratching and should help clean the mottle...

Lose any dark frames.

Dither between exposures and stack with a clipping algorithm.

Remove the mirror clips and instead, fix the mirror using neutral silicone sealant at the same points you find cork/felt/nylon to glass.

Cut the secondary end of the focuser barrel if it is protruding into the light path. It most likely will be.

Cheers and HTH

Edited by alacant

1 hour ago, Durrani84 said:

If I zoom into the stars, I see like long strands over the stars (like greyish roads?) 

Those are just denoising artifacts.

Try processing your image without denoising algorithm applied.

In a busy star field denoising can blur out faintest of the stars and if they are ordered in chains - that starts to look like strand of light.

You might be slightly over sampling as well.

Thanks @alacant: Really appreciate your feedback..Im not very technical so I dont think I can comfortably make many of those changes :) but I do dither and I will try skipping Darks!