Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

PHD2 Guiding issues

Hey everyone!

So yesterday during the day I finally managed to control my SkyWatcher EQ5 GoTo mount through EQMOD and other software. I'm still waiting for my EQDIR cable to arrive, but for now it worked by simply connecting a USB2.0 A to USB B cable to the EQ5 SynScan control unit and set the Baud rate to 115200 in both EQMOD and the Bitrate on the COM port. Since in the evening it finally stopped raining and we actually got a couple of hours of decently clear skies I was insanely eager to start and try autoguiding for the first time (yes, I am extremely new to this hobby and never took a picture before. I'm kind of learning all the steps and equipment as I go). I set up my telescope, balanced it and polar aligned it.

I'm using a William Optics Uniguide 50mm (200mm focal length) as guidescope and ZWO ASI 290MM mini as guidecam. After some failed attempts I decided to do a clean install on PHD2 and run through the set-up assistant again and making a new Dark Library. I set my mount to Sidereal tracking and after connecting all the gear I hit the loop button to take 2s exposures (played around a little between 1-3s during the night). When looping started I asked PHD to auto select a star and pressed the guiding button. At first it gave me a warning "Calibration this far from the celestial equator will be error prone. For best results calibrate at a declination of -20 to +20". Not being sure exactly what it meant, I did some googling and decided to recalibrate at a point much lower over the horizon (assuming this is what it meant), and didn't get that error again. Before my clean install this is what my guiding looked like:

Pbi0bmN.png