Narrowband

Which eyepieces?????

Hi.

I am new to astronomy (about 8 months) and I'm in need of advice. I have just bought an Orion XT8. My previous telescope was a Celestron  Powerseeker 114EQ which was a gift (I struggled a bit with this) Having researched on the internet I concluded that the XT8 would be a better suited telescope.

I am getting on a lot  better with it, however, the eyepieces that I got with the Celestron don't  seem to be of a very good quality (plastic barrels and not very sharp) and so I am looking to replace them with a better quality range but there seem to be so many and despite researching I'm still not sure which ones to buy. The top end are out of my beginners budget but I don't want cheap rubbish either.

Could anyone recommend a good quality make that will give me a a crisp clear image (subject to good viewing conditions) with a wide field of view and good eye relief (I wear glasses) I would like to be able to view both planets and deep sky and so would like a range of focal lengths ( 3 to 4 ) and possibly  a 2X Barlow.

Thanks in advance. Andy

Edited by Andy67
Error

For most people on a budget the goto eyepiece is the BST Starguider https://www.firstlightoptics.com/bst-starguider-eyepieces.html  60° fov and decent quality.

From the blurb:

• Two ED glass elements minimise chromatic aberration. 
  • All air-to-glass surfaces are fully multicoated for high contrast, high light transmission and minimal ghosting. 
  • Blackened lens edges reduce internal reflections and further increase contrast.
  • Six-element / four-group design minimises field curvature for a nice flat field. 
  • 16mm eye relief (suitable for spectacle wearers). 
  • Large 21mm eye-lens diameter for comfortable observing. 
  • Convenient screw-out eye cups. 
  • Tactile rubber grip for easy handling in the dark. 
  • 1.25“ nosepiece with milled safety undercut. 
  • Accepts 1.25“ astronomy filters. 
  • Suitable for use with telescope focal-ratios f/5 and above.