SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Alignment ...and not polar!

Thanks to all of you, Ive had a lot of success in getting the hang of this lately! Tonight, for the first time ever I was able to actually guide using a guide scope and phd!  Im missing two pieces of the puzzle in my head though. Heres my setup:

-Zenithstar 73 with field flattener.

-EQ6-R Pro mount

-ZWO ASI290 Mini Mono Guide camera

-Orion 60mm Guide scope

-Camera is currently Canon EOS 1DX Mark III, I didnt hook up the ASI 2600MC Pro OSC yet.

I have a laptop using ASCOM, PHD2, Stellarium and APT.

I actually have it all working well and talking to each other! I do a rough polar alignment of the EQ6, then connect all my gear to the laptop. In Stellarium I can select an item and go to it, and that still makes me smile, its just so cool.

But heres what Im mentally missing.  How do I align my Zenithstar and camera and guide scope all together? What I mean by that is I can have PHD2 pick a star and start guiding.....but dont know what star it is. And even if I did, how  do I now align that to my main scope so they are all pointing at the same thing in the center of the field of view?

Right now, I can point to a star, and it goes to it.. but it does not mean that what I pointed to in stellarium is in the center of my view of my camera.  I know the guide scope doesnt really care within reason what its pointing to, its just a point of reference. But it seems to me Id like to have them all pointing at exactly the same thing.

I found this out tonight because when I pointed to something big and bright (andromeda) and took a long exposure, it was nowhere to be seen in my photo (but the picture came out GREAT!)  :)

Thank you for any tips on this!

bob