Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Need help! - Getting Most out of Celestron NexStar® 130 SLT Telescope!

I just recently purchased a Celestron NexStar® 130 SLT Telescope for my wife, and I want to get the most out of it for her...I was thinking I should buy a 3X Barlow Eye Piece for it (mind you I am TOTALLY new to this) My wife and I have never even owned a Telescope before.

I was reading online that for a particular Telescope.. the "AstroMaster 130EQ" to get the best magnification possible a person should get  a Omni 4mm eyepiece  and a 2X Barlow Lens....

https://www.celestron.com/blogs/knowledgebase/how-to-determine-which-eyepieces-to-use-with-your-telescope

I was thinking about getting a 3X Barlow Lens, and pairing it with a really good eye piece, but as I don't know much about Telescopes, I don't even know if it would be compatible with a Omni 4mm eyepiece, or I would just get this., and call it a day...

Could someone please tell me what would be THE best combination possible for the Celestron NexStar 130 SLT Telescope?

I would appreciate ANY feedback you guys can give me!

Thank you!

Edited by ChevyFan

The usual rule of thumb is to consider the maximum magnification a telescope can cope with is double the aperture. The 'scope you mention has an
aperture of 130 mm , so your limit is 260x. I've no idea where you live, but in the UK it isn't very often that the atmosphere is steady enough to go above 200x.

I think the focal Length of your telescope is 650 mm , to find the magnification an eyepiece will give you in it, divide 650 by the mm of the eyepiece. So a 3.2mm eyepiece would, in theory, give you 200x. Adding a 3x barlow would give you 600x, which would be way beyond what your telescope could deal with.

This article may help https://www.skyatnightmagazine.com/advice/understanding-limits-telescope/

3 hours ago, ChevyFan said: