Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Prism star diagonals

I'm still a refractor newbie and when hearing the term "prism diagonal", have thought about the cheap starter-kit erecting prism diagonals. Therefore, in my mind, a decent mirror diagonal was better than a prism.

Anyway, turns out my assumption is wrong - especially after seeing the prices of some higher-end prism diagonals. So - a few quick questions from me:

• Are all prism diagonals correct image, or are the high-end ones the same as a mirror?
  • Fast scopes - mirror best, but slow scopes - prism better?
  • At what prices do decent prism diagonals start ? Say compared to reasonable mirror diagonals starting around £70?

Happy Friday, everyone 🥳

Prism diagonals have the same image as mirror diagonals. Correct, Mirror fast and Prism slow. About the same price really. Baader do a 32mm prism for around £80 which is really good but it's part of the T2 system so you need nosepiece and eyepiece holder on top. The best 1.25" prism diagonal is the Takahashi for around £99. The 2" Zeiss prisms begin to get quite expensive but so are high end 2" mirror ones.

• Thanks 2

Prism diagonals can achieve much greater light throughput. In order to get in high 90s (like 97-99%), mirrors need dielectric coatings - and many layers. These impact surface quality as there is limit to how precise thickness of layer can be.

Prisms can easily get 99% or higher (depending on glass clarity and applied coatings on air glass surfaces - two of them).

If you want to know more about how each performs - read this excellent article:

https://www.cloudynights.com/articles/cat/articles/mirror-vs-dielectric-vs-prism-diagonal-comparison-r2877

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1