Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

New EQ6-R Pro... but not having any luck

69boss302

HI All. New here and this is my first post. Id like to preface this with saying Im REALLY new to this whole thing but not a complete virgin. For the last couple of years Ive used my skywatcher star adventurer pro, and absolutely loved it.  I have had excellent results with it, and its easy to set up and use.

Now... I recently picked up a new EQ6-R Pro and have had far less luck. I can polar align (Northern Hemisphere) no issues at all but thats where my success ends.

Right now, I have a very basic set up:

-Skywatcher EQ6-R Pro mount and tripod

-William Optics Zenithstar 73

-William Optics 73a Field Flattener

-Canon 1DX Mark III DSLR

The first issue Im having is balancing the optical gear.   I can balance the camera gear to the counterweights (Sorry, I dont know all the terms yet), but balancing the camera gear wont happen. Its a heavy camera and its not much of a lens so that part I understand. Ill move to a CCD at some point.  I have it all moved as forward as it will go without the focus knob hitting the dovetail mount.

Secondly, After I polar align it, it asks me for a 1,2 or 3 star calibration.  I figured Id start easy with 1 star.  I picked a star close to polaris and hit enter, then it says "Now center the star in the view using the arrow keys".  Nothing happens when I hit the arrow keys.  And I assume its still talking about the polar scope I aligned NCP with? If so, that wont move with the arrow keys. So Im stumped.

Another oddity Im having is if I have my retical  aligned with 0 at 12:00 in the polar scope. all my camera gear is upside down, and it hits the front elevation bolt. I cant believe Im the first to ever have a DSLR on this things so Im betting Im doing something wrong.