Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Photoshop

Elements is a very lightweight version of Ps and would not, in my view, suffice for proper AP processing. Anything from CS2 onwards will do fine.  I have CS3 and the up to date rental version on my PC but I often default to CS3 because my fingers are more familiar with the shortcuts etc.

Olly

• Thanks 1

23 minutes ago, Alien 13 said:

Affinity Photo is a genuine competitor to PS and now has a suite of astrophotography tools included, the price is very reasonable with discounts offered on a regular basis.

Alan

Thanks Alan, Can I ask if there are any online tutorials that you would recommend for Affinity? As a total noob, it was the abundance of you tube tutorials that got me thinking about Photoshop.

Cheers 

Simon 

Hi Simon,

I was in a similar boat to you a little while ago but couldn't bring myself to spend the kind of money required for a PS license; instead I plumped for Affinity. Now, I'm still pretty new to Affinity Photo but I've been able to use it relatively successfully by following some YouTube tutorials done by James Ritson (their in-house product expert).

Cheers,

Stu

• Thanks 1

Hi,

I've been toying with the idea of using Affinity - the reviews I've seen are very positive about it. So far I've been trying the free software packages, such as GIMP, StarTools and Siril. All of these have plenty of tutorials and suggested workflows on Youtube and I'm still trying to decide whether to stick with the free software or go for Affinity (I don't think paying a monthly subscription for PS would be beneficial for me at least). I just need to pick one software package and then put in the time to learn how to get the best out of it, especially for DSOs. 

Cheers,

Steve 

• Like 1

1 hour ago, Simon Dunsmore said: