Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Remote Astrophotography

Hello everyone,

I am in the process of selling/buying new gear and since I am still fairly new to this hobby of stargazing I would like to ask a couple of questions.
What is the minimum setup for remote astrophotography? When I say remote I mean having a telescope in the back garden and operating it from my office-room computer or living room laptop.
Is there such thing as "remote"? Or even cabled from a 7 meter distance let's say!

I am sorry if this sounds funny to some people but all I've had so far was a 200p dobsonian which is great for a viewing session but that means I have no idea when it comes to astrophotography.

• Would a HEQ5 pro be good enough of a mount?
  • Is a DLSR suitable or do you need a zwo camera?
  • Does a Newtonian reflector do the trick or do you need a refractor?

And in general what will I need? Please, not the most expensive items you can think of :D The basic side.

Thank you in advance :)

Vasilis

As regards "remote" you can control a laptop from you in house PC with things like Team Viewer, Remote Desktop et al.

No funny at all if you are new to AP. A DSLR can certainly be used but you might want to get it modified for AP. Reflectors can be used - the 200 dob might be difficult for guiding purposes but it can be done. You will need a guidescope and camera if you are going for long exposures.

• Thanks 1

A HEQ5pro will be enough, scope size dependant.

DSLR or dedicated will work.

Newtonian or Refractor makes no difference, the only issue you could run into is having a newtonian not suited for imaging (not enough inward travel on focuser to reach the image plane of the sensor).

My set up is a HEQ5pro, ZS73 refractor and ASI2600mc, although I used to use a Nikon D5300.