Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Newtonian VS Catadioptric scopes

In the last 6 months I have had 2 catastrophic telescope disasters (or so I thought). 

I dropped my Skymax 150 Pro destroying the corrector plate and it is beyond economic repair😩

Two weeks ago I had a fall on my deck taking over my whole rig. AZ EQ6 and Bresser 10" Newt. The result was a broken focuser mounting plate and tube with dings, dents and creases. The focuser and EP were in rhe flower bed but had survived. 

After a large gin ( no that was not the cause of the fall) I emailed Bresser UK to see if I could buy a new tube and mounting plate for the focuser. 

They were very helpful but tube not available till about Easter. 😩😩😩😩

Full disassembly of the scope. 

Then started my self taught pannel beating course. 🤔

Tools used

Large roll of Duct tape to bump out the larger dents. 

Just held in hand and banged with the curve of the tube

Wooden mallet and small hammer to gently tap out the smaller dents and sharper crease caused by the edge of the mounting plate. 

I found that the extension bar from the Azeq6 counterweight bar held inside the tube made a perfect anvil and holding it across the inside of focuser hole I could caress the tube back to shape even removing the crease. 

You need to look very hard now to see any  evidence of damage. 

Bresser are sending me a new mounting plate for the focuser. £19.50 delivered. 

Who considers the cost of repair when choosing a scope? I do now. 

Clear Skies

Bigwings

• Like 2
  • Sad 2

Well done! There is something to be said for Newtonians, quite robust, and fixable (as long as the primary mirror survives). And of course easily collimatable without expensive equipment.

I'm very careful with both of my Skymax 127 and 180. The big one is quite challengeing shape and weight  when lifting onto the mounting plate.

1 hour ago, johninderby said:

Handles should be standard on most scopes. 🙂

So much easier to lift onto a mount. 👍🏻