Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Astro-camera Quandry

SteveNickolls

Hi, I have been astro-imaging for a little over six years and now wish to purchase a cooled astro-camera to continue my interest in the hobby.

I set up my equipment each night and currently use a modified Canon 700D DSLR, clip in Astronomik 12 nm Ha filter and Samyang 135 mm lens (f/2) to capture wide field images of emission nebulae and intend to continue to do this type of DSO imaging but with the benefits that a dedicated cooled astro-camera with lower read noise and higher quantum efficiency could bring. I live in a Bortle 6 area, a typical SQM-L value being around 19.26 so light pollution is always a concern when imaging.

My budget is modest in astro-photography terms and I first considered the ASI183MM-Pro model. The intention would be to have a simple set up involving the astro-camera, ZWO filter drawer holding the clip in Ha filter in a 2” adapter sold by Astronomik connected to the Samyang lens. Out of the left field however I have recently entertained the newer and slightly cheaper ASI533MC-Pro model having a largely improved specification compared to the 183 model and has no associated ‘glow’, but this astro-camera is OSC. 

I am conscious that there would be a hit in terms of resolution between the two cameras but as I am imaging with a short lens (135 mm) the equipment is already under sampling according to the Astronomy.Tools link on our sponsors site but this may not make much real life difference in the images produced. I am also aware of the reduced light grasp with using the OSC compared to the mono astro-camera-this is something I am familiar with when imaging with my modified OSC DSLR.