Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Four-pane mosaic of North America Nebula and Pelican Nebula

BrendanC

Hi all

Finally finished this one - a four-pane mosaic going from the North America Nebula across to the Pelican Nebula. Culmination of the eight clear nights we had during July in the UK, and literally hours and hours of trying to get it to work. I've never done a mosaic of a nebula before and it was a very steep learning curve (yes, another one).

affinity.thumb.jpg.9b1bf5b1cb795d439f4d6c38657b8311.jpg

* 17:39 hours of integration at ISO800 from 120x120s + 37x180s + 177x240s subs, over 8 nights (had to use different exposure times to cope with light pollution and varying Moon phases)
* Bortle 4 sky, Moon average 60% phase, 27° height
* Calibration: 25 flats, 25 dark flats, 50 darks
* Hardware: Sky-Watcher 130PDS scope (F5), Sky-Watcher NEQ6 mount, Canon EOS1000D DSLR camera with IR filter removed, Sky-Watcher 0.9x coma corrector, Datyson T7C guide camera, Angel Eyes 50mm guide scope
* Software: Polar alignment with SharpCap Pro, guiding with PHD2, capture with Astrophotography Tool (APT), stacking with Deep Sky Stacker (DSS), post-processing with StarTools, Photoshop CS2, Affinity Photo and Topaz Denoise AI

Cheers, Brendan

Edited by BrendanC
  • Like 16