Narrowband

I can’t see anything with my telescope!!

i’m fairly new to telescopes and i’ve assembled it properly but i can’t see anything through it. i’ve taken off the cover on one end but when i look through the eye piece it’s black but when i take out the eye piece and look through the whole i see an image but it’s very tiny.

Hmmm. this seems to be a reflector with a 75 (?)mm mirror and f9 (focal length around 675mm)

With the H8 eyepiece this would give the lowest magnification. A good place to start.

When you look into the front of the tube (with the cover totally removed) you should see the mirror at the bottom of the tube and a small black circle close to the open end. The small circle is actually a small mirror which sits at 45 deg and diverts the light from the main mirror into your eyepiece. You should see your reflection in the main mirror.

When you look into the side of the tube (where you put the eyepieces) you should see the small secondary mirror and the reflection of the main mirror at the bottom of the tube.

Point the tube at a wall/ house/ tree some distance away and insert the 8mm eyepiece. Using the focuser move the eyepiece in and out slowly to find a focus.

If you can get to this point you're very close to being able to use it to view the heavens.

Most simple thought is that the focus is well out. Put in whatever is the longest eyepiece, although reading the information it says 4mm and 8mm and I half suspect that both will be too short. The details would imply that the scope is "sold" on rather extreme ideas of magnification. If the 87x is based on the 8mm eyepiece then the focal length appears to be 700mm.

General optics would say that at 87x and an SR eyepiece that your field at the eye is around 0.5 degrees. You really need to get hold of something like a 25mm or 30 or 32mm plossl. That would give you a decently wide field of view. Makes getting things in your view immensly easier.