SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

New telescope help please.....Crazy complex!

Hello everyone!

First time poster here, so please go easy!  Am looking to purchase my first telescope, so I am a complete beginner and although there are loads of similar posts, all are slightly different and it's quite confusing!  Although I did study Astronomy and Astrophysics as part of my first degree (although that mainly concerned the calculation of the speed and mass of galaxies and such like!), but we did have access to the university's telescopes which included their 37" SCT!  Link here if you are interested:  

http://observatory.wp.st-andrews.ac.uk/files/2018/06/JGT_manual.pdf

I would therefore consider myself very technically minded and certainly like a challenge.  I am always go big or go home and that will certainly apply to me taking up this awesome hobby (although I value your expert advice).  I am fascinated with space and spend hours reading science journals and books. 

So for my first foray into the hobby I would like to get proficient in visual astronomy - no astrophotography at all.  But I don't want to start small, I want to start large(ish)!  But I don't want to go bigger than necessary considering my sky conditions.  So:

• My skies are bortle 5 - although it's fairly decent to the North, East and South - not as good to the west due to a town;
  • I do have nearby access to Bortle 4 and 3 and my wife's parents live in a Bortle 3, which is a three hour drive away.  There is a local club about 5 miles away in Bortle 4/5.  However, I will not get into this if I can't spend the majority of my time at my home.  So consider 90% of my time will be in my own garden.  So I do not need the scope to be particularly easy to transport.  I am a fit and relatively strong individual anyway.  I am 6'1";