Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

6" Refractor, Hydrogen Clouds and NV (Report)

I've been an amateur astronomer for fifteen years, but I think only the last few nights I was priviledged to observe Milky Way's hydrogen regions in all their glory - thanks to NV. The setup was:

• 6" TS f/5.9 Achromat on TS alt-azimuth mount 
  • PVS-14 with Harder 2100 FOM tube
  • 67 mm TeleVue Plossl, giving 13X magnification and 3-degree field of view
  • H-alpha filters: Baader 7 nm and Antlia 3 nm
  • APM Amici prism for right angle correct orientation view
  • Interstellarum Deep Sky Atlas
  • Bortle class 4 site at Wembury Point, England (SQM showed 20.60). Transparency 6/7. 

214771063-10159551110556636-122900573118

Initially started with the summer classics - M57, M13, etc, but once I tried the 3 nm filter on the Gamma Cygni region, I literally couldn't pull myself from roaming around this region surrounding Sadr all the three nights. It was mind-blowing. IC1318 and Crescent both photographic in appearance. Glowing, cury, textured emission in high contrast to dark patches and filaments. The dark triangle near LDN889 not only apparent in form, but exhibiting detailed structure. The eyepiece view was quite similar to this picture, if you squint your eye a little: https://bit.ly/3hJ4Ws4

The Crescent showed doubling front in the north and Y-shape in the center, mottled body, almost "electric," I guess, due to the scintillation. Visually was very similar to this picture:
https://www.astrobac...-6888-Large.jpg

Numerous DWB emission clouds and the Sh2-101 Tulip in Cygnus were bright - the whole region all appeared as pierced and surrounded by faint hydrogen emission, which was also easily apparent in the eyepiece. The extent of the nebula seen far exceeded what was shown in the Interstellarum atlas.