SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Using OAG with DSLR camera

Hello everyone! 🙂

I'm into astrophotography for some time and I want to take another step ahead - guiding.

I'm new to this topic, but I read many threads on many forums and I chose to use an OAG.

I have SW150/750 on NEQ6 and my main camera is Canon 450D. 

I have two questions:

1) I'm planning to use ASI120MM mini as guiding camera. Would it be enough for OAG?

2) I heard that I may came across some problems with focusing both cameras at the same time. What adapters would I need to get the right backfocus?

PS. Or maybe it's better to use separate guiding scope in my case?

14 minutes ago, Xav1999 said:

Would it be enough for OAG?

579267462_6f8(1).thumb.jpg.69de0c4a8daaac6821d0209a8a86ed21.jpgHi

Yes, easily enough and will guarantee you pinpoint stars every time.

We use a 120mm on a 150/1200. The 120 has bin 2x2 in firmware in case you need it. I think at f5 however, you'll be fine native.

No adapters needed if you use a standard m42x0.75 helical focuser on the oag stalk. See our setup.

Otherwise, a separate guide telescope will work but to get the same level of quality as with the OAG, we'd advise a longer full width dovetail, a top rail to tie the top of the rings and 6 replacement 1.4mm diameter wire springs for the main mirror. 3 to replace the existing springs and 3 more passive over the locking screws. Beware though  that this adds significantly to the mass of the telescope.

HTH 

• Like 1

I have two concerns.

First is back focus and use of coma corrector.

Most coma correctors have working distance of 55mm, while Canon flange distance is 44mm.

Usually people use EF/EF-S  to T2 adapter that is 11mm of optical path and that gives them 55mm required by coma corrector.