SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Extent of the imaging capabilities of the Star Discovery 150p WI-FI alt-az goto telescope

Hello, i am new in the astronomy and i would like to buy an average all around telescope with an inclination to imaging. I came across SD 150p which is good for observing and capturing lunar and planetary photos (for what i have found online). So the question is "what can it do for both lunar-planetary and DSO imaging (without modifying the focuser so prime focus is only achieved through a barlow lens)? Do you have any photos i could look to or any recommendations to telescopes with similar price? The plan is to start slow with an average telescope (and practise my skills in editing astrophotos :D) and then move on to more expensive and sturdy equatorial goto mounts so i dont have to worry for field rotation and stacking thousands of raw files. Tell me what you think!

While alt-az is indeed more suited to short exposure lunar / planetary AP it is possible to do DSO AP.. Take a look at this thread where you will find examples of what is possible with an alt-az mount.

Edited by johninderby

To specifically reply on the 150p star discovery. That flavour of telescope does not come to focus naturally with a dslr there is not enough inward focus travel (barlow probably required). There is a thread on here somewhere where someone was trying to source a super thin T ring in not sure if they where successful. Through many DSO are large so just use a camera with a camera lens if you already own one instead on the mount and work within the mounts limitations.

Or check out the az-gti which there is a different firmware available for it that turns it into EQ capable mount.

Edited by happy-kat