Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

M27 - Dumbbell Nebula - my first attempt with APP

Here is my first try at using Astropixel Processor just with all the default settings straight 'out of the box'

I'm still very new to astrophotography, but I'm reasonably happy with this effort.

45 x 60sec lights (Canon EOS750D, 400mm lens, ISO1600)
15 darks
19 bias
27 flats 

M27_Dumbbell_Nebula-RGB-session_1-St crop.jpg

Edited by StuartT
  • Like 21

43 minutes ago, StuartT said:

Here is my first try at using Astropixel Processor just with all the default settings straight 'out of the box'

That looks beautiful. Was it taken through your Meade telescope with the 750D?

Edited by AstroMuni
  • Thanks 1

2 hours ago, AstroMuni said:

That looks beautiful. Was it taken through your Meade telescope with the 750D?

Thanks. No, it was shot with a Canon 400mm f/5.6 telephoto lens.

But my next job is to try it with my 8" SCT for a larger image (though with shorter subs, as I am not guiding)

Well Stuart, that's a very fine image to start with, both as an 'early work' and for 45 minutes of exposure. I'm not an SLR expert but I had a go in APP and Gimp. My suggested version is below.