Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Summer Musings on Telescopes

Alas my telescope hasn't had much light since mid April with one thing and another getting in the way and not having the time (nor enthusiasm at present alas!) to stay up very late / get up super early to catch what little darkness there is at present. I am hoping to catch the occasional moongazing night or get a good Fri / Sat session planned in (another limiting factor at the moment!) in the near future!

That said I am reviewing my notes and playing with the idea of what would I get if I was to get a new telescope (observing only astrophotography is far to expensive for my blood!) towards the end of the year - it must be similar to the weather related boredom I had in the winter :)

So as a beginner I currently have an AZ Pronto (alu legs) with a Skywatcher 90/660 refractor, I've enjoyed a bit of everything from moongazing, planet spotting (Mars only), DSO fuzzy spotting (very faint grey blobs mostly!), some double splitting and of course the wide field star clusters have been spectacular. My garden is fairly constrained in most directions (mostly due to buildings / trees) with a fair amount of light pollution due to street lamps or neighbors security lights (Bortle 5, 20.46 SQM). I tend to have to move the telescope quite a lot throughout the night to get the right angles to avoid said lights as much as possible. The AZ Pronto does ok but its a bit over weighted in all honesty due to the BST eyepieces and can slip at times especially as I do have to angle towards the zenith quite often. 

So my options I think:

- Obviously the easiest answer is to stick with what I have and carry on learning and tinkering, especially if I am not getting much use out of it again till maybe end of July / Aug