SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

tell me the differences between FC100DZ, TS 115 TRIPLET, TS 125 DOUBLET LANT for visual use

hi 

have any of you ever compared them directly?
What are the differences in the purely visual planetary use?  which guarantees the "wau" or "Ok" effect? the quality of the little one? the diameter of the large?
thank you

it's nice to read our collective thoughts back in sentences.  It's a psychological thing to always choose the middle one.  and in this case I suspect that it will again, provided that 115 triplet uses the best glass of the three options.  I'm only basing this on conjectures and read experiences.  But there is a catch.  There's a Tak in between that will throw all logical thinking upside down

• Like 1

I have no real experience with any of the three apochromatics. At first glance these are three very similar instruments, medium focal length and multipurpose (visual/images), but judging by the cost and the proven optical quality of the brand, the first of them (the Taka), an F/8 doublet with a fluorite lens, should be the best for image quality.
At less than half its cost, the two TS are located. The TS 115 is an F/7 triplet with Ohara's FPL-51 and lanthanum crystal in two of its three elements (the composition of the third glass is not specified). The TS 125 at F/7.8 is a doublet with FPL-53 and lanthanum. Both have a good 2.5" R&P focuser with 360º of rotation. In this sense, the Takahashi's 2" R&P focuser is simpler, I'd say it doesn't rotate and is not double speed.
The high cost of the FC100DZ (about 3,200 euros) can put many observers off. TS alternative is not bad, as their products have a good build. In this case, I would lean towards the F/7.8 doublet, due to its larger aperture and, I presume, due to its better chromatic correction. https://takahashi-europe.com/catalog/refractors/doublets/fc-100dz/fc-100dz // 

http://www.mystarrynights.at/tst/TS 125-975 APO/

4 minutes ago, Chandra said: