Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Red dot or finderscope?

Hi all 

The next thing in my list to upgrade is my finderscope. The one that came with my scope is barely functional. I just wondered what people's opinions are when choosing between red dot and finderscopes. 

I'm still quite new to astronomy and am slowly getting there with locating some harder to find things. I have been struggling a bit with the finderscope that I have. Could it be the quality of it making it much harder to use, or maybe I would get on better with a red dot? As I understand it an RD is simple to use but the magnification of a finderscooe can help with locating some of the harder to find objects. Please correct me if I'm wrong there lol. 

Thanks in advance 

Mike

sorry. Text was missing.  But i prefer in the end the reddotfinder over a larger finderscope.   Maybe it depends on the scope you will use it for.  For me, sitting behind my eyepiece, and approximately 30 cm behind the point where the reddot or finderscope is attached, its easy to use the rdf from that distance and not get out of the chair

7EFFF786-6D39-498E-9E64-1C57324FC282.png

Edited by Robindonne

I use both an illuminated reticule (IR) finder and a 9x50 right angle correct image (RACI) optical finder on my 12 inch dobsonian. I tend to use mostly the optical RACI  finders on my refractors but I do occasionally use an RDF on those.

When using the dobsonian I find that the IR finder (similar to an RDF) gets close to the target area then the optical finder achieves more precise positioning. For really challenging targets the final finding stage takes place through the scope with a low power / wide angle eyepiece.

I much prefer RACI optical finders to avoid the neck / back ache that the straight through type can cause.

• Like 3

3 minutes ago, John said:

I much prefer RACI optical finders to avoid the neck / back ache that the straight through type can cause.