Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Daylight savings time - ON or OFF?

Help please, newbie here. I've a Meade 10" LX200, with an Autostar controller. I'm in France which, like UK, has daylight savings during winter. So when it calls for "Daylight Savings Time", do I have to put "NO" in the summer and "YES" in the winter? or do I leave it as "YES" and presume the scope will work things out based on the integral clock and date?

The reason I ask is I'm having trouble with my initial alignment and want to check all the possible issues.

Many thanks!

I set mine to yes when it's on ie now and then off again when BST stops. It's a Sky-Watcher mount but the principle will be exactly the same.

Oh daylight savings is during the summer months not winter, maybe that's where you're getting mixed up?

Edited by scotty38

37 minutes ago, scotty38 said:

I set mine to yes when it's on ie now and then off again when BST stops. It's a Sky-Watcher mount but the principle will be exactly the same.

Oh daylight savings is during the summer months not winter, maybe that's where you're getting mixed up?

Scotty’s absolutely right; we are currently an hour difference from GMT so daylight savings is ‘on’ for us in the UK and, I believe that it’s ‘on’ for France too. 

Stu

Edited by Sabalias

I have an obsy mounted 12 lx200gps and daylight saving is always on. It's always yes as it goes through its initialisation. This makes sense to me as it follows the system time on the pc I have in there which always follows local time. 

19 minutes ago, skyhog said:

I have an obsy mounted 12 lx200gps and daylight saving is always on. It's always yes as it goes through its initialisation. This makes sense to me as it follows the system time on the pc I have in there which always follows local time.