SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

25 mm BST or something else?

Kon

I have owned by SW 8" Dob for just over 6 months (I am a beginner in the field)  and I am thinking of upgrading the standard 25mm EP that came with it; it does deliver decent views. I currently have 8mm and 15 mm BST EPs and I really like them. I also have a Celestron 32mm Plossl. My interests are DSOs (mostly nebulas) and I have found that I am particularly using my 15mm and 25mm EPs the most; 8mm when viewing allows. Would you recommend the 25mm BST or are other brands that might deliver better than the standard one? Or shall I keep the current 25mm and look at a different size? My budget is around £50-70 (maybe stretched a bit more).

Edited by Kon

17 minutes ago, Louis D said:

The 25mm BST performance is well below that of the 8mm and 15mm version.  However, anything that performs better at 60 degrees around 24mm to 25mm is much more expensive.

Thanks. Which one would be considered a decent EP if in the higher price bracket? It does not have to be 60 degrees since my current 25mm is probably less.

I have the 25mm BST that I use as a DSO finder in my 200p. It does suffer some outer edge aberration in a f5.9 system but it’s still a great eyepiece for the money. There’s the 68° 24mm ES which is probably about the widest field you’ll get for 1.25” but costs over 3x the BST.

Edited by IB20
  • Thanks 1

Check the BST 25mm page on FLO

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/bst-starguider-eyepieces/bst-starguider-60-25mm-ed-eyepiece.html