Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

F ratio - again!

OK, I'm a former teacher so 'how to teach things' is a bit of an obsession. How about this:

Noah has an 8 inch F10 telescope and wants to speed up his image capture time. He buys a 0.5x focal reducer to bring his telescope to 8 inch F5.

His sister Jemima has the same scope but she's opinionated and ignores the 0.5 focal reducer option in favour of an invention of her own, an Aperture Increaser :D, which also takes her scope to F5.

Who wins?

👹lly

2 minutes ago, ollypenrice said:

OK, I'm a former teacher so 'how to teach things' is a bit of an obsession. How about this:

Noah has an 8 inch F10 telescope and wants to speed up his image capture time. He buys a 0.5x focal reducer to bring his telescope to 8 inch F5.

His sister Jemima has the same scope but she's opinionated and ignores the 0.5 focal reducer option in favour of an invention of her own, an Aperture Increaser :D, which also takes her scope to F5.

Who wins?

👹lly

So, as an observer not an imager....

.... does it depend on what size target you are imaging?

Its all relative 😜

Well, lets see.

The first law of thermodynamics, also known as Law of Conservation of Energy, states that energy can neither be created nor destroyed; energy can only be transferred or changed from one form to another. 🥸 so using a focal reducer or barlow cant increase the number of photons entering the scope, but can either concentrate them into a smaller area or spread them out when they reach the sensor 🤪.

I dont know if thats right but it sounded good in my head, so id say the aperture increaser will win.

Edited by Magnum
  • Like 1

1 hour ago, ollypenrice said:

Who wins?

👹lly