SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

First attempt at close ups - any suggestions?

rnobleeddy

I've decided to have a go at lunar imaging but trying to get the most out of my kit before I work out what else might help. I've previously focused on full disc images so this is my first attempt at getting closer.

The images don't quite meet expectations, although expectations tend to be based on the best of what I see on the internet, and so are probably entirely unrealistic for a 1st effort. 

Main reason for posting is that I don't know what I need to work on - so just wanted to post my workflow and see if anything jumped out?

These images were taken with a 250PDS Newt + 2.25x barlow + ASI120MC-S. I also have a mono CMOS camera with the same pixel size/larger chip. I chose to go with this combination as it seemed like the simplest way to get started  - largest aperture of the newts I have +a  color camera. The camera chip size is also relatively close to the diffraction limited field for the scope/barlow, although I haven't got as far as working out how much I ought to worry about this.

Working everything out for this setup I get:

image.thumb.png.3396c1c19bc5ef66d54f4e2281975d02.png

I posted previously and got some good info on f-ratio vs pixel size, diffraction limited fov, etc. I realize this isn't exactly correct, but I don't believe it's a million miles away (and it's also what I have!).

Process was:

- focus on the moon using the surface focusing methods in Sharpcap - this clearly worked, but seeing made it impossible to be exact

-  took 3000 frames in 8-bit mode, which took around a minute. Exposure time around 3ms. Gain at 50.

- moved around the moon at random trying to find interesting features