SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

New Celestron CPC Deluxe chipped secondary

Hi everyone.

NZ based observer. I recently purchased a new CPC 1100, removed the secondary and discovered these chips on the side. Is this normal? If so it's quite surprising for a nearly $9000 NZD scope. The mirror appears fine. But the chips look a bit worrying, the large one is almost the whole side of the mirror. Is this an acceptable manufacturing tolerance for Celestron? Does anyone else have a secondary that looks like this?

Thanks in advance

IMG20210502115809.jpg

IMG20210502115734.jpg

IMG20210506104914.jpg

IMG20210506105004.jpg

Edited by Jamespnz
Adding some further pictures

Hi James

I'm by no means an expert, but was it working correctly before you dismantled it?

Also why did you dismantle it?😁

Ive got a CPC 925 and I must admit I wouldn’t expect to have chips on the mirror like that.

im sure someone here with more experience will know what’s going on.

Edited by Andy ES

Well I reckon you're going to have to live with it seeing as you have almost certainly voided the warranty. Were the views OK when you used the scope or were there any issues? What prompted you to remove the secondary? 

You may have used that scope for a lifetime without knowing of such chips, as mentioned above, I fear you may have voided the warranty, I am curious about why you were compelled to remove the secondary

considering it is brand new?.

Ah ok, hadn't considered that you can easily remove the secondary to fit hyperstar system, In that case the warranty must be ok. 

I wouldn't have thought the defects in the glass would have any effect of the mirrors performance ( @Peter Drew?) but its probably worth checking with Celestron to be sure. They may just ask to send the secondary back and not the whole scope which would be much easier that sending the whole lot back