Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

How long to get first decent image ?

I have been attempting DSO astrophotography for a couple of months now but haven't yet produced an image I would be prepared to share on this forum. I understand that this is a difficult and complicated thing to do and there is an enormous amount to learn, and I don't yet really have the equipment or skills.

I was just wondering how long it took you before you had produced an image you were satisfied with and prepared to share?

• Like 1

I've been at it a couple of months but I have put at least one leg into the money-pit but happy enough with this one given the moon etc, taken a week or so ago

I am reasonably technical so have read lots and do have a normal photography background. If that helps at all I wouldn't know 🙂

I have since had another go at it and got rid of the light pollution a bit but this is the original. Where I am utterly clueless is in the processing which is mind blowing really, well at least it is to me....

• Thanks 1

Thanks Scotty. That's far better than anything that I have managed so far. I am trying to concentrate on focus, polar alignment and finding subjects at the moment. Also processing, exposure length and iso settings are proving difficult. 

May I enquire what sort of kit you are using? 

If you take a minute and think about what you are trying to do it is a wonder any one without £10,000's of money to throw at it get any sort of image.

You are trying to train your scope an an ever so tiny piece of sky and collect photons on a cameras sensor that have been travelling through space for Thousands of years and there are so few of these photons that you would struggle to see all but the brightest of them at all by eye even through a telescope.

So in actual fact any sort of image is an achievement, especially without all the more refined equipment.