Narrowband

AstroRookies Sterrenkot: a beginners and budget "observatory" solution

AstroRookie

Hello,

AstroRookies Sterrenkot is AstroRookies Starshed in English, so we understand each other. I'm new to the hobby and I'm basically lazy, so I quickly realized that spending 2 hours setting up my gear for each session, I would very soon call it quits. So after seeing one of Cuiv's, the lazy geek video, I understood that it's better to have the gear permanently outside and being used but wear out faster, than to have it inside not being used and last longer. So for a couple of months (september till february), I kept my gear (mount = EQ6R-pro, telescope= Orion 8 Astrograph) under a car cover outside in the grass. I soon realized that this was not very ideal, as the grass soon turned into mud, the cover also started to collect mud and I had to polar align for each session, so I needed something else.

That's when I started brainstorming with a friend who's not an astrophotography amateur, but who's very handy, has the necessary tool and knows that AstroRookie is on a budget. So that's how we came up with a tent-shed on rails, covering a platform. After a couple of sessions, I experienced that the platform was not a very good idea because when one has to walk on the platform for polar alignment the whole setup is vibrating. But I considered this my version 0.1. The tent is with a metal frame, and the whole construction has been tested with storm winds of around 100km/h and more.  I used the car cover as an inner layer against dew on the inside

After some more brainstorming, I finally decided to build a pier together with my pal. And this weekend the "observatory" is finalized. (Thanks a million once more, Filip!)

I estimate the whole thing has costed around 800 €, still a considerable amount of money for AstroRookie, but I think it's difficult to do it for less.