Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

£3.55 scope chair.

Tiny Clanger

Having managed to make a small but very rigid triangular table for my Heritage dob to stand on back in lockdown #1 , I have been using it standing up ... but somewhat leaning over, which , especially in the really cold weather , occasionally caused my lower back to suggest to me that this was not a wise pose to hold.

I'd read folk saying it is easier to keep your eye where it needs to be when you sit to observe,and tried it out , using an old plastic stool which lives in the shed and has been stood on while decorating, used as an impromptu saw horse etc. Yes, sitting was better, but the single height of the stool was often wrong ... I needed an adjustable height seat.

I checked out the purpose made observing chairs, which were often lovely looking, but insanely overpriced . I studied seats intended for ironing (something I don't do) drummer's stools , etc etc. Didn't much like of any of them. The internet coughed up several sets of plans, most of which required a panoply of table saws, jig saws, and for all I know , see saws ,huge sheets of expensive plywood , a workshop, and carpentry skills.  I have none of those.