SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Help with observing

Hello,

I am a beginner to all this. I have just purchased a Celestron Nexstar 130SLT and I am having trouble getting close in to Nebulas etc or even being able to see them. The aperture of my telescope is 130mm and the focal length is 650mm. Focal ratio is f/5.

I have collimated, finder-scope aligned, level telescope even temperature matched outside. 

I live in a Bortle 6 area so I have a little bit of light pollution. I can see star clusters clearly just not nebulas or galaxies.  

I have a 9mm and 25mm eyepiece that came with the telescope, which seem not to be the best of quality.  I have a 32mm celestron omni plossl eyepiece, omni 2x Barlow and BST starguider 5mm eyepiece.   

I am wondering if anyone has any advice please to assist on this issue.  Would any filters help?  

Thanks,

Lucas

If you live in a Bortle 6 area, you will see few galaxies and even fewer nebulae with a telescope of this size.  Your eyepieces and collimation are not the issue. Narrowband filters will help on nebulae with strong emission lines, otherwise no.

I suggest you either find a dark skies site you can observe from, or investigate what you can do with EEVA.  I have found that this delivers startling resulkts from an urban area, almost matching the visual performance of a larger scope at a dark site.  See the EEVA Reports sub-section of the forum here.

• Like 2

I suggest you read this thread

You will not see galaxies as you see them in photos. With your skies and scope the best you can expect is some very faint smudges and the large nebula are very difficult to tease any detail out. A dark site will help but you may have to adjust your targets for now. There is plenty more, well visible in your scope and skies....double stars, planetary nebula, planets and star clusters.