Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hello from 'New to astronomy'

Adele Pattie

Hello everyone, having just started to dabble in this new interest I'm hoping for some advice please on recommended lightweight and easy to transport (either in its own rucksack or backpack) telescopes.

Thank you, Adele

Welcome fellow newbie.

All I can advise is to think about the following...what do you want to see? lunar, planetary and deep sky objects may require different levels of equipment. As well as the scope, you also need to think about the tripod and mount. A basic scope on an unstable mount and wobbly tripod will put you off. The same scope on a better mount will be better than an expensive scope on a cheap mount.

Try reading “Turn Left at Orion” for some pointers on what you can see with which equipment. I’m definitely no expert but that would be a good place to start.

I'm pretty new to this as well and I reckon the best thing to do as mentioned above is have a look into what kind of astro stuff you want to get into then just consume as much information you can do via books, youtube and articles before you buy anything. That's what I did, and like your self I wanted a portable set up for now as I'm always out and about being in different places for a few months at a time so to me that was important. As anyone here will tell you its a very expense hobby but you can spend as little or as much as you want on gear but you can always upgrade and also depends on what you can afford at the time as well (that's a big one). I guess its kinda of a double edge sword being weather permitting as you always want to upgrade bits and pieces but if there's going to be no clear Skys for a couple of weeks it gives you a bit of extra time to look for deals etc but then also you can't do what you're excited to do and that's have a look upwards.