SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Celestron firmware upgrade

Hi, just joined and would welcome some help if anyone can  

I need to do a firmware upgrade on my Celestron Astra fi 102.   I’ve downloaded the Celestron  File Manager to my iMac and found I need Java to run it. I’ve installed Java but still can not open the CFM.jar file.  I know Apple doesn’t like Java, but is there a way to get this CFM to run ?  My iMac is running on Catalina. 

Hi Michael.  The kit is brand new, and I can connect to the mount wirelessly but I am unable to control it from the Skyportal app on my iPhone, as the movement arrows do not respond.  The retailer has suggested I do a firmware upgrade and 'that should fix it'.  Problem is, can't get the CFM.jar to run on my iMac.  I just get messages saying it could not be launched.  I have up to date Java installed, and have over-ridden the Mac OS security block on the CFM.jar file but still no joy.  I am not a programmer so not great at fiddling around with this sort of stuff, so wondering if there is a quick and easy fix !  Meantime it's all under warranty of course and I could just send it back, but I spent a lot of time what scope to get and would really like to get it to work as intended.

Just googled the firmware and it's version 7.17.00310  which was released a year ago in April-2020 and it was to fix a bug with a particular camera.  The previous version was in July 2019.  - 

Synta (Celestron) provide their own CFM uploader for updating firmware   available here   for updating firmware on mounts and handsets, so presume this is what you have tried to install the update ?