SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Orion nebula

Hi just a quick question. 

I am using an orion xt10 and looking for orion nebula.

I thought I found it last night, but I wasusing a 2x Barlow and a zoom lens at 8mm.

What I thought was the nebula didn't fill the whole eye piece and had 4 stars just behind it. 

Have I found the right one?

It sounds like you have seen the central part of the Orion nebula and the Trapezium cluster.

You were using a lot of magnification (300x !). To see the whole of the nebula you need to use much less magnification - about 50x is fine so a 25mm eyepiece (no barlow) will do the job.

Hi. I’m new to the hobby so no expert but as stated above it sounds like you have found the trapezium in the centre. 
if it helps at all when I started this voyage with my grandson I thought getting up close was the secret. For us it certainly isn’t now. Much better views and perspective are to be found using lower strength eyepieces. 
last night was clear here and spent the evening looking at Orion, the beehive cluster to name a couple on a 20 and 26mm lens. 
maybe as time moves on we will get more orientated and observe things in more detail but at the moment it’s really interesting just seeing a bigger picture of the clusters etc. 

• Like 1

4 minutes ago, tea_subtle said:

Hi. I’m new to the hobby so no expert but as stated above it sounds like you have found the trapezium in the centre. 
if it helps at all when I started this voyage with my grandson I thought getting up close was the secret. For us it certainly isn’t now. Much better views and perspective are to be found using lower strength eyepieces. 
last night was clear here and spent the evening looking at Orion, the beehive cluster to name a couple on a 20 and 26mm lens. 
maybe as time moves on we will get more orientated and observe things in more detail but at the moment it’s really interesting just seeing a bigger picture of the clusters etc.