Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

The Moore "Spring" Marathon? What sky condition forecasting tool you use when planning?

Hi all,

I've realized that planning is very important in my short experience. As a newbie I found the Moore Winter Marathon very handy, as the planning was sort of already done for me. I managed to enjoy a couple of decent skies during the last two weeks. 

I was wondering if there was anything of the sort for the Spring months, or what's recommended in "Turn Left at Orion" are the best objects to go and observe. 

Another question that I have is Clear Outside what everyone uses for sky condition forecasting? or do you guys use something else?

Cheers,

Amaury

• Like 1

I prepare a few targets from TLAO, recommendations/observations made on SGL or from the top 500 binary list. I base the targets on likely visibility from my location, so South and South West are the areas of sky I am going for. It often doesn't go to plan. The Cass Nova has the habit of dipping out of sight so I always plan a few reserves. For example, I've just printed off three sheets of A4 with just Auriga doubles! A planisphere is a good way to get an idea of what is "coming up".

Clear Outside can be unreliable but I've not found anything better.

47 minutes ago, Spile said:

Clear Outside can be unreliable

I find it quite unreliable too. 

@ScouseSpaceCadet I'll try a couple of well known weather apps and check which is more reliable to plan ahead. 

@Spile I might get a planisphere. It's exactly when things don't go to plan that I am sort of lost at what to look at. Still learning my way around the sky.

Thanks for the comments