SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

PixInsight newbie needs help understanding image noise

Hi SGLers,

I’m hoping a PixInsight guru can help me. I’m a PI beginner, but am having fun learning. My question is about the level of noise in my images. After integrating and performing an STF stretch, the resulting image always looks quite smooth. But it doesn’t take long at all – just a DBE really, maybe then a gentle stretch – for the image to become really noisy. And then a lot of my editing is centred on battling that noise. My camera is an ASI2600MC-Pro, which I cool to -10. For a recent experiment, I gathered 20 hours of data from 120s subs. With that much integration time, and the low-noise camera, I was hoping for lower noise than I actually got. (I am shooting from Bortle 8, however).

So my question is: are my expectations wrong, and actually the amount of noise I have is what’s to be expected? Or, have I messed something up in pre-processing or integration?

In case it’s useful, I ran SCRIPT -> ImageAnalysis -> Noise Evaluation on the image straight out of integration and got the following:

Ch | noise | count(%) | layers |

---+-----------+-----------+--------+

0 | 2.626e-01 | 18.39 | 4 |

1 | 1.037e-01 | 12.01 | 4 |

2 | 1.636e-01 | 11.10 | 4 |

---+-----------+-----------+--------+

I’ve also uploaded the file (1.16Gb) for anyone kind enough to help investigate further:

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1wB3May69oEWniF8hikueUkSS-TJvjMKC?usp=sharing

Thanks!

-Lee

No idea what the numbers mean but that looks fine to me, good I'd say from Bortle 8 and 400mm.    Here it is, all I've done is cropped all the edges back, re-sampled by 50%, (I expect that drizzling is just adding noise)  removed light pollution and given it a histogram stretch.   Plenty more to give with more processing..  Beware of Pixinsight Screen Transfer function stretch it is highly aggressive.  I'd suggest you re-integrate without drizzle and go from there .