SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

William Optics FLT 91 - imaging

Hi all,

Curious to see if anyone has any reviews/thoughts on the WO FLT 91 scope.

As some know - I am currently looking for a nice refractor (now to sit beside my 150PDS as opposed to replacing it) and will be used primarily for imaging like the 150.

I have therefore been looking at shorter wider field fracs such as the Esprit 80, GT-81 and similar.

However the FLT 91 has also caught my eye. It seems that with the dedicated 0.8x reducer/flattener it puts it into a very similar fov as the others.

My main imaging camera is the 533MC Pro.

Any thoughts?

Clear skies.

Jonny

I have the GT81 and adjustable 6AIII but I'm a beginner so would love to know your thoughts on why the Stellamira is the one to choose vs the GT81 or FLT91?

I have a Stellamira 80 by the way so no axe to grind there 🙂

8 minutes ago, Adam J said:

Have you considered the Stellamira 85mm with 0.8x reducer?

Its what I would go with in that 80mm-90mm aperture range. 

Adam

Don't give me any more to choose from....! 😩

Just kidding. Thank you I will take a look at that also! 🙂

I have the Stellamira 104. Its a nice scope and if the 85 is of the same quality it would be a good option.

I have a gt-81 on order for that wider field and for a more grab and go set up.

I would have considered the flt 91 over the 81 if I didn't have the SM 104.

Edited by Moodtastic

The 91 does look like a lovely scope....to be honest they all do and im sure will fill that widefield hole that I have. 

Back to the decision  making again to look at all of my collated thoughts and options! :)

Not managed to use my new FLT 91 yet, still waiting to source a Skywatcher EQ6 R Pro mount. When I looked at the fov it matched the Esprit 100ED I was also looking into buying for imaging. FLO had the FLT 91 in stock in red so I took the plunge, my guide scope is the William Optics 50mm with a ZWO 290MM and the main camera is a ZWO 294MC.