SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Dslr for milkway/landscape HELP

Calzune

Hi! I have a astromodded Canon eos 1100d with stock lens (18-55mm) I want to start doing some (nightime) landscape milkway photography.

Im not sure If I should invest in a new DSLR or just a new lens (SAMYANG 14 mm f / 2.8)

Im not good with dslrs and there are tons of different versions of them... I want Canon and there are 5D,6D 7D, Eos 500d, Eos 600d, Eos 700d etc...

My budget is around 400 usd, Fulframe is the "best" but also the more expensive ones... but how much better are there than cropped sensor? What would you search for on the used market?

10 hours ago, Calzune said:

Hi! I have a astromodded Canon eos 1100d with stock lens (18-55mm) I want to start doing some (nightime) landscape milkway photography.

Im not sure If I should invest in a new DSLR or just a new lens (SAMYANG 14 mm f / 2.8)

Im not good with dslrs and there are tons of different versions of them... I want Canon and there are 5D,6D 7D, Eos 500d, Eos 600d, Eos 700d etc...

My budget is around 400 usd, Fulframe is the "best" but also the more expensive ones... but how much better are there than cropped sensor? What would you search for on the used market?

I use a Sigma 18-35mm F1.8 with my Canon 7dmk2 for my night landscapes and aurora. The Canon 10-18mm or Canon 10-22mm are both well regarded but slower and the 10-18 is well within budget even new - it will give you wider shots although you will need to expose a bit longer.

I think you would get a lot more value out of a new lens than a new camera - if you want this primarily for nighttime photography you would be paying for lots of features that would just not be necessary. Use a tablet (with a cable) or intervalometer to provide hands-free shooting.

Note - if you use Canon EF-S lenses then you cannot use clip-in filters, but you can with the Sigma lenses.