Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Getting "Hubble Palette" style images from your OSC dual/tri narrowband data - PixInsight Tutorial - UPDATED

Hi guys, I made a quick video tutorial to try and show an easy to follow method to take your OSC narrowband data taken with filters such as the l-extreme and other similar ones and turn it into a hubble-esque palette.

I know that there's lots of ways people like to perform this sort of task, but this is how I've self-taught and I thought if I can do it then anyone can!

This tutorial uses PixInsight, the EZ-processing suite, available free here https://darkarchon.internet-box.ch:8443/ and also finally requires that you have Starnet installed and working in PixInsight, though I believe this is standard for new versions.

I hope this is useful for some of you!

EDIT - I made available a newer version of this tutorial which is in my opinion better - I'll leave the old one here for anyone interested still though!

the older one is below -

Edited by Luke Newbould
Added a video revision
  • Like 6
  • Thanks 3

Nice one good work. I don’t have PIxinsight and didn’t bother pursuing after the trial as I didn’t really get my head round it but this is making me reconsider....

Edited by scotty38
  • Like 1

@scotty38 - I had a rocky and frustrating start with PixInsight for the first three weeks or so of the trial, and I seriously thought I'd not be purchasing it, especially given the lofty price tag! - Things started to click into place though soon afterwards, and now I do genuinely enjoy processing in it :)

• Like 1

• 2 months later...

Excellent video Luke.

I have always been reluctance to embrace PixInsite, feeling I needed a higher degree in image processing just to crop the raw image.

This has eased the divide and I may start to invest time in it.  I will check out your YT channel and see if you have other great tips and guidance.

Cheers,

Sean.

• Like 1