SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Looking to put together an autoguider setup.

Complete newb here only 1 month in to it all.  Researching as much as I can each day and trying to learn new things every hour.  Here's my rig:

Celestron AVX 8" SCT

Celestron AVX Mount

Celestron 2x Barlow

Various Celestron additional eyepieces

Celestron Starsense Auto Aligner

ZWO ASI 224mc color cam

I believe I can use the 224 cam as part of an auto guider solution and am wondering what else I would need for that, assuming I would be best servers with an off axis guider solution.

Many thanks in advance...

Edited by Wish-It-To-The-Cornfield

Firstly, welcome to the SGL. :D

If you're starting into astrophotography, what sort of targets do you want to image and what have you done so far? 

If you want to use the ASI224MC as a guide camera, what imaging camera will you be using and how do you intend to control the mount when guiding, laptop, tablet or something like ASIAir?

You can use an off axis guider (OAG) or you can fit a camera to your finder scope and use that instead to get you started.

It's always handy to set a budget limit for this sort of thing because with astrophotography, the sky really is the limit as far as price goes! :D

Thank you Martin - much appreciated!