Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First Galaxies M81 & M82

Using a small telescope - a Sky-Watcher Skyhawk 1145p, EQ1 plus small cheap & bodged motor drive in Bortle 8-ish sky’s. Or so the data says but I’m becoming convinced it’s more like a 7.

I haven’t been a member long and I’m new to all of this but thought I’d share this. It’s also the first object I’ve found that I couldn’t see with the naked eye and I spent around 40 mins searching before I found anything.  

Should have looked at Andromeda too when we had the chance but it’s now gone over the back of our house. For my daughter, it’s was after midnight and she was long in bed, I even managed to get a final picture or two at 42x with my phone camera. Just using the standard camera app (still working out the likes of NightCap). OK, you could say it’s a grainy picture of some dots and a couple of small fuzzy blobs. And I’m sure I can do better next time. But I’m chuffed and over the moon.

Interestingly I could not see M82 (only a very fuzzy and dim M81) in the eyepiece with just my eye. The phone camera was picking things out that I could not see or maybe just missed. Should have played with other eyepieces to get a better view but it was getting late, rather chilly at around -2C and by that time the tube was starting to bang up against the tripod, the galaxies being almost directly overhead. Next time!

It also makes me realise how lucky people in this hobby are. Sure, everyone has seen galaxies in books, TV and the internet, but how many have seen one with their eyes? Not many I bet. Even something like the Milky Way which of course can be visible with the naked eye. My daughter has told me that at 9 she’s never seen it. We’ll have to change that!

IMG_8133.jpg

• Like 17

That's a good image for a mobile phone !

M82 has a couple of dust lanes across it which you can see with a larger scope at higher magnification and your image shows those.