Question on hot pixels

Hi all,

I hope everyone is doing well.

A quick question for you all and apologies in advance if it is a daft question!

I had my second AP session last night where I took 10 x 180 seconds of lights on NGC2023 along with darks, flats and bias calibration frames.  This using my ZWO533MC Pro.  I noticed that within my stacked image (APP) which then lead me to look at the light frames that I have a number of red, green and blue pixels.  I know that these can be removed with good calibration frames (which i am still practicing to do 🙂), dithering etc... however I wanted to know if it is 'normal' for these types of cameras.

I am very new to using dedicated DSO cameras and have only used DSLR's in the past for photography and appreciate that they are different beasts.  Just wanted to know if there is some sort of tolerance on this or whether it is normal.

I have attached a PNG file for reference. 

Thanks in advance.

Jonny

HH_Nebula-St copy.png

Great looking image. Yes this is quite normal for these types of cameras. With Astro Pixel Processor and a full set of calibration frames these then are minimised in the final stacked images. It is then down to post processing in software such as Photoshop. Obviously PixInsight can also do this and is incredibly powerful and this makes it more complex and something I want to try soon. I also use Topaz DeNoise as my final part of the workflow which does a great job.

6 minutes ago, Grant Fribbens said:

Great looking image. Yes this is quite normal for these types of cameras. With Astro Pixel Processor and a full set of calibration frames these then are minimised in the final stacked images. It is then down to post processing in software such as Photoshop. Obviously PixInsight can also do this and is incredibly powerful and this makes it more complex and something I want to try soon. I also use Topaz DeNoise as my final part of the workflow which does a great job.

Thanks Grant.