Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

DSLR users compact flash or SD?

Astro Waves

Hello,

To all the DSLR users out there I wanted to see what your thoughts were on this. 

I've been a photographer for many years and alway used CF cards for storage in camera, when shooting through out the day and sometimes night shoots and never had any problems with them what so ever but.....I've recently start shooting astro and tonight the temp dropped quite a bit and I had a problem looking back through the images on the camera which I've never once had before but I've never situated my camera to sitting in constant cold temperatures before. Although the images had trouble playing back (meaning they didn't on camera) and it couldn't read them they were all there when I went to transfer them to laptop but I don't want to risk a corrupt card when shooting a nights session and lose the data. 

Has anyone found if using SD cards are much more stable for night time shooting due to the temperature of the camera?

Cheers

I've used SD, CF and XQD and never had a problem. The lowest temperature I know I've used a CF card at is -12* C. In that case the battery went flat early.

The only time I've heard of a CF problem in the dark and cold was when a friend of mine somehow bent the pins at the bottom of the card slot one night. Don't do that, it's an expensive fix !

Dave.

1 hour ago, davew said:

I've used SD, CF and XQD and never had a problem. The lowest temperature I know I've used a CF card at is -12* C. In that case the battery went flat early.

The only time I've heard of a CF problem in the dark and cold was when a friend of mine somehow bent the pins at the bottom of the card slot one night. Don't do that, it's an expensive fix !

Dave.

Yeah bending the pins would not be good.