Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Star Adventurer Pro won't work with ball head

Hi all 

I'm new to tracking and just purchased my first star tracker - I'm sure given the subject line that you've guessed it's the Star Adventurer.

I am using a DSLR with a 135mm prime lens - way within the payload limit.

I've researched quite a bit before buying and thought I knew what to expect but this problem is strange and need some advice of anyone is willing to help.

Again, from the subject bar, the problem is that I polar align, put the ball head straight onto the tracker (as I mentioned above way within the payload limit) and turn it on to standard sidereal rate band the following happens.

1. There is motor whirring and the tracker rotates for approx 5 seconds

2. The motor stops

3. The mode dial starts to flash at a quick rate indicating  a motor speed error

An additional point is that when I add the full bracket with the fine tuning mount assembly it seems to be fine. It is rotating with no error warnings... This is really frustrating. 

Is my purchase faulty or am I getting something wrong?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Not sure of the spec but a DSLR and a 135mm prime must be quite heavy, I'd be inclined to use the L bracket and counter balance.

Quite a few users with your mount on here so I'm sure someone will have a better idea of what it's capabilities are.

Hope you get sorted soon 🤞🏻

• Like 1

10 hours ago, JonDotCon said:

Hi, thanks for your reply - much appreciated

I maybe have this backwards then - I thought a DSLR and lens would be ok to add directly to the tracker... 

They are, but....