SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Struggling with Post Processing, any Help appreciated

Hi All,

I'm still very new to this and enjoying the challenge & feel like I'm doing things correctly I'm framing fine, plate solving assisted, guiding seems to be going fine so on paper things should be improving but something that is consistently causing me doubts and questions is the post processing, I'm currently trying various flavours of stacking and post processing and tend to default to DSS and GIMP but the results are variable to say the least and I find GIMP is not very intuitive.

I wonder if there is anyone out there that fancies a challenge to see what they can do with the data I've collected ? I'm at the point of wondering if my captured input data is shocking or my post processing is shocking (probably both), I'm hoping that maybe someone can say "your input data is awful because XYZ"

The data below was collected under a bright moon on an unmodified 1300d DSLR, 3min guided exposures at ISO800 and I basically couldn't get anything out of it 😞

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/dsncqroqz2snxd3/AAB56eKYB-h8kAcahdRrjz-1a?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/wse6k0hcgsfmm4j/AAAX_0qB1nQmlYWrEgSwOwoLa?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/4lztkz9d0zauekg/AAC6Ar_nUtKIcdVmlpjKTwioa?dl=0

I am on a slow connection at the moment so cannot really download all the image (i will later).  When you say you cannot get anything out of it have you managed to stack all the images?  If you have managed to do some processing in GIMP for exmple can you post up the image here so we can see.

17 minutes ago, Chefgage said:

I am on a slow connection at the moment so cannot really download all the image (i will later).  When you say you cannot get anything out of it have you managed to stack all the images?  If you have managed to do some processing in GIMP for exmple can you post up the image here so we can see.