SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

First try with star adventurer

Hi Everyone 

So last night i had my first go with my star adventurer.

Canon 6D and Samyang 135mm

30 second subs (I've only done 2 second subs before)

I haven't seen the images on my pc yet but from the preview the background sky was very bright.

I shot at iso 1600 and f2.8

So if i want to make sure the background isn't so bright should i lower the f stop or iso or both?

Thanks Rob

• Like 1

21 minutes ago, RobST said:

Hi Everyone 

So last night i had my first go with my star adventurer.

Canon 6D and Samyang 135mm

30 second subs (I've only done 2 second subs before)

I haven't seen the images on my pc yet but from the preview the background sky was very bright.

I shot at iso 1600 and f2.8

So if i want to make sure the background isn't so bright should i lower the f stop or iso or both?

Thanks Rob

Hi Rob 

I'm new to all this to and waiting on delivery of my star adventurer late March. Its worth just playing around with the iso 800 maybe better at 2.8f. If you can look at the histogram on your dslr the peak should be around 1/4 to a third way along to the right is best if I recall rightly, but could be wrong. I know the higher iso the more noise generated. Maybe try iso 1600 at 3.5f. Look forward to the results, I'm hopefully clear skies tonight and will be trying Orion again. Last night I was using my Canon 450d on lx2 mini track 50mm prime lens iso 1600 3.5f 1 min subs and my sky appeared bright but the histogram was 1/4 to 1/3 along, so tonight I'm trying iso 800 at 3.5f 1 min sub to note the difference. Clear skies 

Edited by LeeHore7
Addition
  • Like 2