Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

CELESTRON C6-S CG-5 MOUNT HELP PLEASE !!!

macipod

HI JUST GOT MY FIRST SCOPE YESTERDAY MANY THANKS TO STEVE AT FLO, I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO WORK OUT HOW TO USE THE MOUNT (POLAR ALIGN SET UP THE DUAL AXIS MOTORS) THE PROBLEM I HAVE IS

1. WHAT ARE THE SPEEDS FOR eg 1x 4x 8x ? ive tried tracking the moon this afternoon and at 1x the moon was being left behind i did not polar align the mount could this be the problem? 2. do i need to push R.A and DEC buttons together at the same speed for it to track correctly

3. Polar align the mount does this need to be done every time i use it or if i mark to ground were the first align met was made (which i am yet to do still trying to work it out)

i am a bit intimidated by this set up being a total novice i wonder if this was the right decision should i have gone for a goto system any help would be very much appreciated

Luke :(

Hi Mac,

Welcome to SGL.

The scope and mount must be polar aligned every time you set up but for just visually tracking objects just a rough align will do, don't get too caught up in spending time getting it exactly right at the expense of actually using the scope. As you say just do it once and try to remember/ mark the spot.

The mount MUST first be set to your latitude using the bolts and the latitude scale on the side of the mount (this is really important, have you done it?), then the polar scope must be aligned to Polaris (the North Star).

Once the mount is powered up it should track automatically without you pressing any buttons (its actually tracking at x1 in RA) the other speeds/ directions on the handset are just to centre objects or move the scope around from object to object. Once you've found (say) the moon and centred it, the mount should track it without you touching anything else.

Hope this helps

Gaz